Adventures and Stepping Out of the Comfort Zone Part 3: Civilization and Another Desert

The next morning found some of the spectators from the night before picking through the ashes of what had been.

I knew it was finally time to go.

A linking book would have been wonderful to have so I could leave and get back into a comfort zone I knew fairly well but then I would not have had the time to process all that I had seen and done in my week at this strange place. I drifted in and out of a light sleep reenacting events as myself and my fellow travelers were borne back to a decidedly different city and civilization.

I suppose my comfort zone of a cityscape I was more familiar with would have been terrifying in its own way to the denizens of the desert community. Somehow I felt they would be more flexible than I since they seemed to have adapted to their harsh environs and yet used the remnants of the civilization I knew to craft the city around them in the dusty and arid plain.

As I readjusted back to what I was familiar with, I looked around me with new eyes. I felt I could appreciate the beauty of the architecture and I saw it in a different way, from the large buildings to the small.

Even nature lent a hand in enhancing what man had made…

I could imagine elements of the D’ni in some places and elements of their ages in others. Garden ages came to mind, lush and full of life.

What I had experienced gave a richer meaning to what I now saw in the city environs from parks to aquariums.

Even wandering amongst various museums, I viewed the art in a changed way.

The magnificence of the city made me want to continue my journey to find the opposite of the desert. So I took to the sea. Another austere place in ways much like the desert yet a salty, wet different from the arid, dusty desert. Another difficult journey out of my comfort zone where the world pitched and swayed in unimaginable ways. Yet here again was life just like in the desert, here were hidden things to discover.

My journey ended with a return to my comfort zone. My own bed, my own armchair, my friends and things I am familiar with. I do not regret my adventure. I may do it again, return to the desert or I may have my sights aimed at a different place with the intention of hopping out of the comfort zone yet again to see what I can discover and challenges I can surmount.

I met a young man at the very start of my experience who said he hoped he would enjoy this adventure and wished that I would too. I saw him later in the desert, looking part of his surroundings and in his comfort zone. He expressed how much his expectations had been fulfilled and asked me if I was enjoying my adventure. I said, “Yes.”

“A journey should be shared…”

And oh, yes. I did find another cone migration and even found a nest!

4 Comments

  1. DeAnn Dufaux said,

    September 17, 2012 at 1:46 PM

    A wonderful commentary. The pictures helped us to see it…. your words helped us to feel it. Thanks!

  2. Lareh Portal said,

    September 17, 2012 at 3:43 PM

    Incredible series! Bravo!

  3. kerryth said,

    September 17, 2012 at 8:10 PM

    Thank you for taking us with you on your grand adventure! 🙂

  4. jaxzy said,

    September 18, 2012 at 12:50 AM

    Thank you for sharing. Jax. 🙂


Leave a Reply

