Adventures and Stepping Out of the Comfort Zone Part 1: Am I in Minkata?

I arrived back home last Monday night tired but elated. This grand adventure that had been a year in the planning was over. I feel a satisfying end knowing that I could challenge myself and succeed. One surprising result is though I am tired physically, I feel refreshed and invigorated mentally. My brain will be mulling over all the interesting things I saw and people I met on my adventures for some time to come.

When I view the world anymore I wonder how the D’ni would see these things and what would they make of them. Being widely travelled can inure one to the wonders of new places and worlds, yet somehow I think the D’ni kept that wonder because they kept exploring and going out of their comfort zone to find/create new worlds.Maybe something impels us to seek out new things…

The first part of my adventure took me to a desert, far away from the cities I had known to another city, a different city. It was like Minkata but without the kiva holes. Dust blew over things, got in your eyes, nose and mouth… Sometimes all you could do was cover your face with your scarf and turn your back to the wind and just stand or crouch there.

Suddenly the wind would clear and the dust would settle and wondrous, strange things would appear.

The dust and vast spaces in the desert hide a multitude of things. Minkata was a training ground yet it still had secrets for the D’ni, the DRC and later those adventurers who dared to explore beyond their initial linking point. This desert also held many secrets.

Stepping out of your comfort zone is uncomfortable. You feel hesitant, unsure of what is to come and not entirely sure you want the surprises you are certain are coming your way.

Along the road you meet others who are also stepping out of their comfort zone, reaching for a new challenge. Sometimes you fall into step together and share some of the experience for a bit. You find this different city is very much akin to what you knew in some ways and very different in other ways.

Others, who have done this before, share their wisdom of the world you are exploring and yet others who have been coming here even longer will share some part of themselves with those they encounter.

Out of hesitation and insecurity you find elation that you are actually doing this, proving that you can surmount those parts of yourself that say, “Stay home! I am more comfortable with what I know.” You are still uncomfortable at times but it is only physical, something you can ignore in the wonder of the newness of discovered things every day.

To be continued…

8 Comments

  1. jade said,

    September 15, 2012 at 4:16 PM

    Awesome post! thanks for sharing

  2. Watashi said,

    September 15, 2012 at 6:51 PM

    Wow…now I know someone who has been there…The dust would be to much for me…grew up in dust bowl of western Kansas.
    Watashi

  3. kerryth said,

    September 15, 2012 at 7:10 PM

    Like a dream… Exquisite pictures!

  4. Jandai Writer said,

    September 15, 2012 at 7:50 PM

    Brilliant – What the SL version was meant to be.

    • thednivoice said,

      September 15, 2012 at 8:26 PM

      SL version is every bit what this was. Sadly some of the upper eschelon group in SL have given out the impression that you have to experience the RL one to ‘get’ it with their attitudes. If you ‘get’ it, you get it and are every bit as much a Burner as someone who stood in the dust. Not everyone can get out there for various reasons. One thing I learned is that it is in your heart and mind. Physicality is only incidental. Actually the friend I went out with and I were laughing at how everyone was dressing like SL!

  5. DeAnn Dufaux said,

    September 16, 2012 at 11:42 AM

    You made this very real for us DM! Wonderful post – wonderful pictures!

  6. March 18, 2013 at 6:41 AM

    I think I missed this.. Did I?/ How could I!!! Great post. Hope you don’t mind me downloading and adding the pics I am on to my FB??


Leave a Reply

